Prizes & Awards

Prix Schläfli 2022 in Geosciences

The Prix Schläfli, one of the oldest science prizes in Switzerland (since 1866) rewards excellent articles published in the frame of a PhD thesis.
One prize is awarded by the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) for each one of the following natural sciences disciplines:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geosciences
  • Physics

Eligible for nomination are young researchers who did their doctoral thesis at a Swiss University or are of Swiss nationality. The candidates must have defended their doctoral thesis between 1 November 2018 and 31 October 2021. Nominations can be submitted by the supervisor of the candidate or by a SCNAT member society.

More informations and dossier submissions here

Deadline: October 31st 2021.

Paul Niggli Medal

The Paul Niggli Foundation awards the annual Paul Niggli Medal to a young scientist who made outstanding contributions to the research fields of mineralogy, geochemistry, petrology, resource geology or solid-earth geophysics. Candidates eligible for the 2022 Medal must be born in the year 1986 or later, or have received their doctorate in the last 6 years.

The Paul Niggli Medal honours and supports young ambassadors of Swiss geoscience, who are either Swiss citizens or have obtained at least two of their academic degrees in the Swiss university system (BSc or MSc and usually their PhD). See Paul_Niggli_Medal for background and earlier recipients.

The 2021 medal and cash prize will be awarded at the SGM plenary session in Geneva (provided a suitable candidate has been found)
The 2022 medal and cash prize will be awarded at the SGM plenary session in Lausanne (provided a suitable candidate has been found)

should include a letter summarising the research achievements of the candidate, a curriculum vitae with full publication list, and at least one additional support letter. Please send your nomination, by electronic mail with pdf-attachments, to Prof. Maria Schönbächler.

Application Deadline for 2022: 22 May 2022.

Swiss Geological Society Prize

The Swiss Geological Society offers a yearly award for the best MSc thesis in Earth Sciences completed at a Swiss academic institution. The award consists of a cash prize of CHF 3000 and will be given to the recipient at the sgm2021 meeting in Zurich.

Applications for the best 2021 MSc thesis, completed between 1 October 2020 and 30 September 2021, should be submitted electronically to Prof. Jörg Hermann, president of the Swiss Geological Society.

The application should include a copy of the MSc thesis (pdf < 10 MByte) and a recommendation letter from the main advisor and should be submitted before 1 October 2021.

Deadline: September 30th of each year


CHGEOL, the Swiss Association of Geologists, promotes research that may have a sustainable impact on problems addressed by practitioners working in geological bureaus. (also see:

Each year, the most relevant publication in this field will be awarded CHF 2’000.- at the SGM

What is «relevant»?
In addition to innovative case studies in the applied earth sciences, other research results that may influence the daily work of practitioners in a significant way are eligible for consideration. Examples could include the development of a new apparatus, chemical analysis techniques or numerical modelling algorithms.

What publications will be considered?
There are two prize categories:

  1. Bachelor-, Master- and Diploma-theses
  2. Dissertations

The winner of each category will be awarded CHF 2’000.-

Who can apply?
Any Earth scientist who is affiliated with a Swiss university.

How to apply?
Download the application form from and send it together with two paper copies of your publication to:
Dornacherstrasse 29 / Postfach
4501 Soloturn

Deadline: September 30th of each year

Swiss Commission of Palaeontology Prize

for the best paper and presentation in palaeontology given at the Swiss Geoscience Meeting
Prerequisites:  The applicant is actively involved in palaeontological research in Switzerland (BSc-, MSc- or PhD-student, early PostDoc) and is less than 35 years old
Prize: CHF 1000.-
Applicants must send their abstracts together with an accompanying letter to the president: Prof. Christian Klug
Deadline for submisson: see SGM abstract submission deadline.

Swiss Snow, Ice and Permafrost Society Prize

for the best poster and the best presentation at the sgm2021
Only for Master or PhD Students
Prize: CHF 1000.- for best poster and CHF 1000.- for best presentation
More information is available on the following website
Deadline for submisson: see SGM abstract submission deadline

ACP Award for Atmospheric Research

The ACP Award for Atmospheric Research is granted by the Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Commission (ACP) of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT).

The ACP Award is annually attributed to a young scientist for outstanding achievements during his/her PhD thesis in the domain of atmospheric research. The evaluation will be based on the submitted PhD thesis. Applications are possible until 18 month after thesis defense. The work should have been performed at a Swiss institution.

The award consists of a certificate, a citation and a donation of CHF 1000.
The award will be conferred at the ACP sponsored Symposium during the annual Swiss Geoscience meeting. The award includes an invited special lecture on the occasion of this ACP Symposium.

If you are interested then please download the detailed call (PDF) and the application form (PDF).

Deadline for applications is 31 August of each year.

Swiss Society for Hydrology and Limnology Poster Prizes

The SSHL-SGHL offers two prizes for posters presented at the SGM: one for best research innovation and one for the best communication/design of the research. Posters must be on display at the SGM poster session for evaluation by the jury. Early Career researchers (PHD and Master students) can apply for the SSHL-SGHL Poster Award. Together with the decision on your Abstract, we will send you an application form for the Award by e-mail.

Deadline for the Abstract submission: August 31st
Deadline for the Award application: November 10th.